Pass the Mustard • by Jacob Haas

Nothing much worth saving

I spent some time the other day poring over some old external drives for backups of blog posts and oh, my god. The ridiculous drivel of 25-year-old me, treating a blog like a personal diary had me like...

MFW reading some of these old entries from 15-20 years ago

I might try to extend my search, but it's not looking like there's be a lot of long-form thoughts for me to port over to this new new blog. It was fun, don't get me wrong, but most of the entries were things like "Hey, this Spoon band is pretty great" with a link to their iTunes page, or "I got an invite to that Gmail beta!" which would have been exciting at the time.

Little slices of an old life that carried meaning in that moment, but lost relevance over the years. And deeply private thoughts and events that I can't believe I even posted online... the sort of stuff I think I'd rather post to Day One, locked away forever in a private app. Unbelievable.


Recent posts